Travel Throwback: Hong Kong 5D4N – Day 1 and 2

Hey all! Fi here. It’s finally another weekend!

So! I was just reorganizing my photo folders on my HDD when I found my past holiday photos and finally decided to do this series post. Ah.. I need me some holiday trips. My colleagues are already planning to go to three places for the rest of the year makes me jelly jelly 😦 Meanwhile, I am patiently waiting for August for other trip to finally come.

Anyway, for this one, it will be a throwback post of my trip to Hong Kong back in November 2014. It was a great (budget) trip for my friend and I as it was our first time ever visiting Hong Kong. Greater for me, because it is basically my first ever birthday trip!

All and all for a 5D4N we spent about SGD 900++/person = USD 680++  (yes, all inclusive). Of course, no fancy hotels or airplanes. It was a budget airline and we stayed at an apartment booked through Airbnb. I personally prefer Airbnb than hotels especially if the pocket’s a little tight. They have a really good type of room too! The only thing though, I guess the accommodation in Hong Kong is on the expensive side, for unless you want to pay an additional amount, you will get just an okay apartment room. But I mean, you will be spending most of the days outside of the apartment anyway, so no complains here. Weather wise, it was gloomy for the first two days but sunny all the way till our last day. Average range was low 17C high 23C with wind. I enjoyed the weather there simply because Singapore is so humid all the time!

Here are some shots I have from back then. No fancy camera yet, but I hope it represents what we went through well. It’s not a complete history photos cause if it is then it will be super long. Hope you enjoy it!

Day 1: We arrived in Hong Kong around 8pm local time, so we didn’t go anywhere far as it was raining too. We were pretty exhausted from almost getting lost when looking for our apartment in Austin area. Newbie alert! So, the closest hot spot around our place was the Temple Street Night Market. Again, not a lot of pictures as it was raining and we were hungry.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
The wet Temple Street Night Market
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Nope. Not our hotel
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
They have shops selling fresh seafood here.

Day 2: Woke up early in the morning cause we’re going to THE PEAK! I found out from my research that this place could get really packed towards the afternoon so we went there right on time just a few minutes after they were open. The Peak is pretty much a high place like on the top of the hill (?) where you can see the pretty sight of Hong Kong.Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
You need to take a tram to go up. It’s a pretty small tram which is why, go right when they’re just open in the morning! if not you gotta wait for a long time as there will be queues for this one!
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
How that PEAK looks like.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
The view from The Peak.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
You can have your wishes hanged there! cute huh

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
I am pretty sure they change this every year? hahah

Right after The Peak, we went to Central, and finally Hollywood Road for lunch.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
The popular street around Central with lots of banners!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Hollywood Road! I love this place. It’s so unique

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetAs you can see. The road was wet! Yes, it was just raining literally the whole day, we were pretty much walking with a plastic raincoat on.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Hippy Stanley Market. We almost could not stop spending our money here. Good thing we remembered to stop!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset After hours of walking, we’re drained! But we still have two more on our itinerary, it was to visit Causeway Bay, Time Square and Victoria Harbour. At this point of time, I honestly forgot which place that we visit first, but yeah. This was the last two places we went for Day 2 and we’re pretty much exhausted! All I can remember was that Initially we’re at Causeway Bay to get dinner, but we ended up spending our last money for the day at Forever 21. Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Photo 8-11-14 8 47 13 pm
The always crowded light show at Victoria Harbor. Get the schedule before coming here. It was just one light show and if you missed it, you missed it for the day.

P1030341 So that’s for the day! Day 3 and 4 and 5 will be on another post. Day 3 will be the holy Disneyland!

Stay tune~

Fi

5 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you there!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re Welcome!

        Like

Leave a Reply

