Dusun Bambu Family Leisure Park, Bandung: A True Heaven on Earth for Everyone

FINALLY!
Fi’s back. *Owed San a big hug for covering me for a while hehe*

WARNING: IT’S GONNA BE A LONG POST.

Yes, I am finally settled back in the lion city after all the travelling (to meet San, yes, double finally), and all the excuses I can mention and you will not want to hear. Don’t worry about that! I am here to story-tell my experience on a sort of “homecoming” after exactly a year.

Bandung, West Java, Indonesia.  A little bit of personal story below.
I used to live there for just half a year when I was a kid. Back then, this place was nothing but a stranger. Didn’t know much, I didn’t get to adapt properly when I suddenly need to move again to Singapore. But, the beauty remains in my mind. I am not even kidding, this place is a gorgeous place to live in.

It was last year, I visited Bandung again for a school reunion, traveled here alone, explored Bandung as an adult, it’s a totally different feeling from my last trip in 2012, with my mom. I am so gonna come back here alone more often! I wouldn’t mind making Bandung to be our HQ. Ehehe..

One of the place that was in my itinerary was located quite a distance from the city center, called Dusun Bambu. This was one of the well-known family and/or tourists nature spots in Bandung where you get to spend your time to chill, enjoy the greens, play with kids here and there, take stunning photos and still feel the thick Sunda homey culture. Just simply perfection. Love it love it.

According to their website, the concept behind Dusun Bambu is an ecotourism with 6E concepts that represents six aspects of life: Ecology (nature), Education, Economic, Ethnology (culture), Ethics, and Esthetics. 

They have different types of restaurants for your consideration (don’t even have to worry about not getting a seat as this place is really huge) as well as Villas if you want to stay overnight and truly enjoy this place. Yes, it is, I repeat, a huge place.

To visit Dusun Bambu I would recommend you to come either on weekdays, or if you’re gonna come on the weekend try to start your trip on Saturday morning to avoid the traffic. It is a 1-2 hour trip from Bandung city center. I personally think that you will need to have or rent a car as it might be difficult to get taxis from here back to your hotel.

To enter the premise, you will need to purchase the ticket priced at Rp 15,000,-/person (about SGD 1.50/person) and on top of that, your car/motorbike at Rp 10,000.- and Rp 5,000,- respectively. Depending on which entrance (when I was there, the main entrance was closed so we need to enter using the second gate), you will need a sort-of shuttle trip to come to the spot.

The tickets, and my ripped jeans :)
The tickets, and my ripped jeans 🙂
A shuttle to get you from the carpark / ticket area to Dusun Bambu Leisure Park
A shuttle to get you from the carpark / ticket area to Dusun Bambu Leisure Park

After a 5 minutes ride, the breathtaking view will welcome you. Feels like home.

What you will see the first time you enter Dusun Bambu.
What you will see the first time you enter Dusun Bambu.
The infamous cottage/villa looking restaurants (?)
You can opt to dine in these gazebos, called Purbasari restaurant, to enjoy the local tradition eating ‘lesehan’ by the lake.
The restaurants are designed to suit the nature. Awesome stuff.
The restaurants are designed to suit the nature. Awesome stuff.
Not particularly a fan of flower but this tiny special ones caught my attention. So pure.
Not particularly a fan of flower but this tiny special ones caught my attention as soon as I reached here. So pure.
This green view, your eyes will thank you for it
This view, your eyes will thank you for it

Pretty, ain’t it?
I am telling you, there’s more. I was really thankful that I get to visit here (plus my most kind friend to come here with ♥). Such a joyful feeling.

Even the signboards are just as unique
Are you feeling the Twilight feeling here?

One of the most well-known Instagram spot here are the bird cage restaurants, where you literally dine in inside a bird cage looking rooms, called Lutung Kasarung restaurant. One tip if you’re interested in dining in there, come early or you will need to wait for your room at least for an hour or more. So don’t come in starving or you will just get H(A)NGRY! Also, just be informed that these kinds of restaurants (similar thing might applied to Purbasari), will charge you a higher price compared to the food court (called Burangrang) in terms of foods as well as a rental fee for the rooms. Just an FYI. I personally wouldn’t mind that though, but when I was there, we need to wait for 2 hours to be able to dine in there. No thanks! We were hangry already.

A live Sunda music along the way. So calming.
A live Sunda music along the way. So calming.
A more interesting looking shuttle that we didn't get to ride :( Boo!
A more interesting looking shuttle that we didn’t get to ride 😦 Boo!
The Lutung Kasarung food place (the bird cage restaurant)
The Lutung Kasarung food place (the bird cage restaurant)

So instead, we had our lunch (it was my first meal of the day actually, which is why I can’t afford to wait for two hours!) at the food court, Burangrang, just beside these bird cage restaurants. There is a unique way to buy the foods there though. You don’t really use your money but rather you need to exchange your money to a monopoly-looking money. NO REFUND if you have leftovers. So play smart 🙂

Burangrang, taken from Lutung Kasarung side
Burangrang, taken from Lutung Kasarung side
Cool huh? I love all the building concepts here (San would know better about these)
Cool huh? I love all the building concepts here (San would know better about these)
THE money
THE money
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Masks. Very Indonesian wall decorations.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Kue Balok (Brick sponge cakes – no idea if that’s a proper translation. It’s a nice cake!!)
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Mini martabak manis. Basically a mini version of Indonesian street pancakes?

You will be showered with options at the food court. I was going to eat them all! But nah.. I will need a spare space for more food after Dusun Bambu 😛

See the inside, shot from level 2.
See the inside of Burangrang, taken from level 2.
More interior!
More interior!

You can do things like miniature archery, dart games in here too! For an additional cost of course. I did strawberry picking here, out of curiosity 😀

Fi's the strawberry farmer.
Fi’s the strawberry farmer.
Fresh, sweet, strawberry!
Fresh, sweet, strawberry!

I personally enjoyed my time here and would love to be back here again next time. Definitely recommended for families, even for groups of friends. Just for everyone, really.

My favorite point and shoot, taken from level 2 of Burangrang
My favorite point and shoot, taken from level 2 of Burangrang
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

More #explorebandung posts after this! Stay tune :*

Fi

DUSUN BAMBU Family Leisure Park, Bandung, Indonesia
Jl. Kolonel Masturi KM. 11
Situ Lembang, West Java
Ph: (62) 22 8278 2020
Opens daily, 7am-10pm (based on their twitter account)

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

